Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Monday, December 8, 2008

Birthstones - Gemstones by Birth Month

Gemstones based on the month of birth are given below. This classification of stones are also called as 'Birthstones'.

January - Garnet
February - Amethyst
March - Aquamarine, Bloodstone
April - Diamond, Rock Crystal
May - Emerald, Chrysoprase
June - Pearl, Moonstone
July - Ruby, Cornelian, Onyx
Augest - Peridot, Sardonyx
September - Sapphire, Lapis Lazuli
October - Opal, Tourmaline
November - Topaz, Citrine
December - Turquoise
Read More on the Significance of Birthstones and the Modern and Traditional Gemstones based on the 12 Birth Months.

Importance of Navaratna ornaments

Either one can wear gemstone jewelry based their zodiac or horoscope or where Navaratna Ornaments where 9 stones representing the all 9 planets are also can be worn. It is a known fact that the positions of planets keep on changing so does the dasa and mahadasas of the planets. According to astrology the malefic effects of Planets can be balanced by the effect of beneficial planets when wearing a 9 stoned ring, bracelet or pendent.
Navaratna Ornaments can be worn by anyone and does not have any negative effects. It suits everyone irrespective of Zodiac and can be worn without the recommendation from an Astrologer. Navaratna Ornaments should be made preferably of gold or silver.

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Gems by Zodiac Sign or Birth Date

Aries (March 21- April 20) Coral
Taurus (Apr 21- May 20) Diamond
Gemini (May 21- June 20) Emerald
Cancer (Jun 21- July 20) Pearl
Leo (July 21- Aug 21) Ruby
Virgo (May 21 – June 20) Emerald
Libra (Sep 23 – Oct 22) Diamond
Scorpio (Oct 23 – Nov 22) Coral
Sagittarius (Nov 23 – Dec 20) Yellow Sapphire
Capricorn (Dec 21 – Jan 19) Blue Sapphire
Aquarius (Jan 20 – Feb 18) Blue Sapphire
Pisces (Feb 19 – March 20) Yellow Sapphire

The sub stones which can be used instead of precious stones as Zodiac Stones or Birth Stones are as follows

Diamond - White Agate, Opal, Crystal, White Sapphire
Emerald -Green Agate, Green Onex, Green Jade, Turquoise
Pearl - Milky Agate, White Coral, Moon Stone
Ruby - Star Ruby, Ratva Agate, Garnet
Coral - Red Agate, Red Onex
Yellow Sapphire - Yellow Agate, Golden Topaz
Blue Sapphire - Amethyst, Black Star, Lapis

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Wearing Gemstones

Gemstones are normally worn as a remedy to planetary influence. When the gemstones are worn as astrological remedy, the stone should touch the body with the bottom of the gem stone setting open. If worn as a remedy the stones have to be continuously worn on the specific part of the body for prescribed periods.

Normally gems are worn
  • On the basis of Name
  • On the basis of Birth Month
  • On the basis of Color
  • On the basis of Problems
  • On the basis of Gemstones Characteristics
  • On the basis of Zodiac Sign
  • On the basis of Horoscope
  • On the basis of Numerology
  • On the basis of Palmistry
Other than as a Astrological remedy, gemstones are used for healing, as fancy jewelry and as medicines.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Classification of Gemstones

Gemstones have been widely mentioned in Vedic literature like the Brihat Samhita, Bhava Prakash, Ayurveda Prakash, Garuda Purana and the Rasa Ratna Samuchaya.The Puranas, Agni Purana and Garuda Purana also have reference of gemstones. Gemstones have healing powers and can remove blockages which are the cause of diseases in the human body. It is said that in order to get maximum effect of gems it should be worn and not just owned unlike Rudraksha beads where benefits of these beads can be obtained by just worship also.

Scientifically, Gemstones are formed because of the chemical reactions and can be broadly classified into two, one is those which are mined and the other those come from the Sea. Those gems which are mined include Diamond, Blue Sapphire, Yellow Sapphire, Emerald, Ruby etc and those which are obtained from the sea include Pearl and Coral. Some of the components of gems are Carbon, Calcium, Aluminum, Manganese, Potassium, Prosperous, Beryllium, Hydrogen etc.

According to the astrological point of view the gemstones are divided into two, one is the navratnas and the second is sub stones. The Navaratnas (9 stones) are Diamond, Emerald, Yellow Sapphire, Blue Sapphire, Ruby, Coral, Pearl, Hessonite and Cat's Eye. There are around 80 substones out of which the main sub stones are Citrine, Amethyst, Rock Crystal, Malachite, Turquoise, Peridot, Tourmaline, Opal, Goldstone,Quartz, Zircon, Agate, Lapis Lazuli, Garnet, Moonstone, Hematite, Load Stone, Malanite/Andradite, Chatiyant Quartz/Tiger Eye, Jade/Jadeite, Onyx, Agate, Sulemani Onyx,Aquamarine, Smoky Quartz, Alexandrite, Blood Stone, Amber, Turmaline, and Rainbow Quartz.

Another mode of classification of Gemstones can be as Hot and Cold. The Hot gemstones include Ruby, Red Coral, Diamond and Cats Eye and the Cold gems include Pearl, Topaz, Blue Sapphire and Gomedh.